Search catalogue


Gade - The Eight Symphonies

5 CDs for the price of 3

During the mid-19th century, the Danish composer Niels. W. Gade was one of Europe's most well-known composers, conducting his own works all over the continent. Starting out as a protégé of Mendelssohn's, he later became his successor as music director of the famous Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra, and made the acquaintance of Robert and Clara Schumann, and of Liszt and Wagner. Initially known as a composer of symphonies, Gade mastered the German musical idiom to perfection, while adding a Nordic accent to it, particularly noticeable in his best works. His eight symphonies were composed between 1841 and 1871, and although Gade remained active as a composer until his death in 1890, he wrote no more symphonies. When questioned, he is said to have stated that 'there is but one Ninth Symphony!' Among Gade's works in other genres is the violin concerto (also included here), composed for the famous virtuoso Joseph Joachim. But it was the choral cantata genre which became his specialty. Such works generally utilized Danish texts, but were in many cases published in German translations and received numerous performances abroad. Within a year of its première, The Crusaders, for instance, was performed in Braunschweig, Vienna, Königsberg, Elberfeld, Breslau, Leipzig and Aachen. It would later reach even further afield - including New York and Buenos Aires - and Gade himself conducted performances in Amsterdam, Cologne and Birmingham. The recordings included in this box set were warmly received upon their original releases between 1986 and 1994, the reviewer in American Record Guide calling Neeme Järvi's symphony cycle 'a set which is not likely to be surpassed in the foreseeable future' and Neue Zeitschrift für Musik giving it 'an unqualified recommendation'.
Choose format
Disc 1
  Niels W. Gade
  Symphony No.1 in C minor, Op.5 31'10
01 I. Moderato con moto – Allegro energico 8'40
02 II. Scherzo. Allegro risoluto quasi Presto 7'03
03 III. Andantino grazioso 8'48
04 IV. Finale. Molto allegro ma con fuoco 6'39
  Symphony No.8 in B minor, Op.47 25'23
05 I. Allegro molto e con fuoco 7'35
06 II. Allegro moderato 5'06
07 III. Andantino 6'35
08 IV. Finale. Allegro non troppo e marcato 6'07
Disc 2
  Niels W. Gade
  Symphony No.2 in E major, Op.10 25'10
01 I. Andantino quasi allegretto 7'06
02 II. Andante con moto 6'02
03 III. Scherzo. Molto allegro 3'43
04 IV. Finale. Allegro energico 8'19
  Symphony No.7 in F major, Op.45 30'18
05 I. Allegro risoluto 10'03
06 II. Andante 8'15
07 III. Scherzo. Allegro vivace 4'10
08 IV. Finale. Allegro vivace 7'50
Disc 3
  Niels W. Gade
  Symphony No.3 in A minor, Op.15 26'22
01 I. Presto 6'54
02 II. Andante sostenuto 5'43
03 III. Allegretto, assai moderato 5'49
04 IV. Finale. Allegro molto e con fuoco 7'56
  Symphony No.4 in B flat major, Op.20 20'10
05 I. Andantino – Allegro vivace e grazioso 7'08
06 II. Andante con moto 5'25
07 III. Scherzo. Allegro, ma non troppo e tranquillamente 2'46
08 IV. Finale. Allegro molto vivace 4'51
Disc 4
  Niels W. Gade
  Symphony No.5 in D minor, Op.25 25'24
01 I. Allegro con fuoco 8'00
02 II. Andante sostenuto 6'01
03 III. Scherzo. Allegro molto vivace 4'13
04 IV. Finale. Andante con moto – Allegro vivace 7'10
  Symphony No.6 in G minor, Op.32 23'42
05 I. Andantino – Allegro molto vivace 6'02
06 II. Andante sostenuto 5'17
07 III. Allegro moderato ed energico 4'53
08 IV. Finale. Andantino quasi allegretto – Allegro vivace e animato 7'30
  Violin Concerto in D minor, Op.56 27'11
09 I. Allegro con fuoco 11'49
10 II. Romanze. Andantino espressivo 7'42
11 III. Rondo scherzando. Allegro, ma non troppo 7'40
Disc 5
  Niels W. Gade
  Korsfarerne (The Crusaders), Op.50 I. I Ørkenen (In the Desert) 16'48
01 Chorus of Pilgrims and Women: Hedt bølger sandet, gult som flammer… 5'27
02 Scene (Peter Eremit, Rinaldo): Snart vort øje skuer målet… 2'12
03 Crusaders’ Song (Rinaldo, chorus, Peter Eremit): Strål høje sol, strål på mit sværd med lyst!… 5'42
04 Prayer (Peter Eremit, chorus): Herre, fra det fjerne drog din skare hid… 3'27
  Korsfarerne (The Crusaders), Op.50 II. Armida 22'54
05 Spirits of Darkness Dance upon the Desert Sand (chorus): Nu snor natten sig mørk om den dødstille ørk… 3'35
06 Recitative and Aria (Armida): De slumre trygt i nattens svale fred… 4'21
07 The Sirens’ Song of Temptation (chorus, Rinaldo): Jeg dukker mit bryst, jeg dukker min kind… 5'58
08 Scene (Armida, Rinaldo, Sirens, Pilgrims and Crusaders): Vågn op, Rinaldo, af din slummer!… 9'00
  Korsfarerne (The Crusaders), Op.50 III. Mod Jerusalem (Towards Jerusalem) 18'33
09 Chorus of Crusaders. Morning: Alt breder sig den lyse sky… 3'32
10 Aria (Rinaldo): ‘Med hellig hu, til målet nu!’… 3'34
11 Pilgrims’ march (Chorus, Rinaldo): Fremad, fremad, frem nu min mødige fod… 3'35
12 Final Scene (Peter Eremit, chorus, Rinaldo): Løft højt dit hoved, korsmand, stands!… 7'52
  Album total 300'32
ComposerGade, Niels W.
ConductorJarvi (Järvi), Neeme
Jarvi (Järvi), Paavo
Rasmussen, Frans
OrchestraAarhus Symphony Orchestra
Malmo Symphony Orchestra (Malmö SymfoniOrkester)
Stockholm Sinfonietta
PianoPontinen (Pöntinen), Roland
ViolinKontra, Anton
TenorWesti, Kurt
BassCold, Ulrik
Mezzo-sopranoRorholm (Rørholm), Marianne is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music. Terms and Conditions